EarComp 2021

2nd International Workshop on Earable Computing
In conjunction with UbiComp 2021, September 2021, Cancun, Mexico


Due to the disruption caused by the current COVID-19 situation in labs and institutions all around the world, the EarComp organisers decided to shift the workshop one year and hold it as planned in Cancun, Mexico, on September 11-15 2021. We will update the submission details in the following months.


Sensory earables are increasingly becoming a mainstream compute platform with a promise to fundamentally transform personal-scale human sensing applications. Over the past few years, a number of research efforts in the ubiquitous computing domain have sought to achieve useful, engaging, and sometimes ambitious behavioural analytics with sensory earables including studies of the human face; of emotion and stress; continuous monitoring of cardiovascular function; oxygen consumption and blood flow; and tracking eating episodes as well as dietary and swallowing activities. At the same time, we have started seeing commercial efforts such as Bragi's The Dash, Bose SoundSport, Jabra Elite Sport, and Sony Xperia offering music experience augmented with sensory services including fitness tracking, real-time translations and conversational agents. Naturally, earables are becoming an intense interdisciplinary area of study with many and diverse applications including HCI, empathic communication, behavioural science, health and wellbeing, entertainment, education, and security.

However, as of today, earable computing lacks an academic forum to bring together researchers, practitioners, and design experts from academia and industry to discuss, share, and shape this exciting new area of research. We are organising this very first workshop on Earable Computing with a hope that this workshop will serve as a catalyst for advancements in sensory earable technology as well as present a clear sense of direction for the research community to proceed in this space.

As a launchpad, we aim to leverage the Open Earable Platform, eSense, from Nokia Bell Labs. These devices are being shared with 50+ academic institutions to accelerate the research in this space. For the second edition of the workshop, we will also consider research contributions which do not build on top of eSense but present innovative developments with other devices.



Call For Papers

In this second edition of the workshop, we will solicit two categories of papers.
  • Full papers (up to 6 pages including references) should report a reasonably mature work with earables, and is expected to demonstrate concrete and reproducible results albeit scale may be limited.
  • Interactive poster papers (up to 2 pages including references) are encouraged to report early stage work with earables or describing a well curated and labelled dataset collected with the eSense earable (eventually accompanied by the dataset).

  • Accepted papers will be included in the ACM Digital Library. All papers will be digitally available through the workshop website, and the UbiComp adjunct proceedings. For each category of papers we will offer a "Best Paper" and "Best Dataset" awards sponsored by Nokia Bell Labs.

    Topics of interest (NOT an exhaustive list):
  • Acoustic Sensing with Earables
  • Kinetic Sensing with Earables
  • Multi-Modal Learning with Earables
  • Multi-Task Learning with Earables
  • Active Learning with Earables
  • Low-Power Sensing Systems for Earables
  • Authentication & Trust mechanisms for Earables
  • Quality-Aware Data Collection with Earables
  • Experience Sampling with Earables
  • Crowd Sourcing with Earables
  • Novel UI and UX for Earables
  • Auditory Augmented Reality Application with Earables
  • Health and Wellbeing Applications of Earables
  • Emerging applications of Earables
  • Organisers

    General Chairs
    Fahim Kawsar, Nokia Bell Labs
    Robert Harle, University of Cambridge

    Program Chairs
    Alessandro Montanari, Nokia Bell Labs
    Chulhong Min, Nokia Bell Labs

    Web, Publicity and Publication
    Andrea Ferlini, University of Cambridge

    Program Committee
    Michael Beigl, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology
    Seungwoo Kang, Korea University of Technology and Education
    JeongGil Ko, Yonsei University
    Nicholas Lane, University of Oxford
    Youngki Lee, Seoul National University
    Tatsuo Nakajima, Waseda University
    Tadashi Okoshi, Keio University
    Johannes Schöning, University of Bremen
    Junehwa Song, KAIST
    Kristof Van Laerhoven, University of Siegen
    Jamie Ward, Goldsmiths University of London
    Moustafa Youssef, Alexandria University
    Cecilia Mascolo, University of Cambridge
    Tam Vu, University of Colorado
    Romit Roy Choudhury, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
    Archan Misra, Singapore Management University
    More TBA soon.