EarComp 2021

2nd International Workshop on Earable Computing
In conjunction with UbiComp 2021, September 2021


  • The submission deadline is extended to June 22, 2021 (11:59 PM PDT).
  • The workshop will be held on September 25, 2021.


Sensory earables are increasingly becoming a mainstream compute platform with a promise to fundamentally transform personal-scale human sensing applications. Over the past few years, a number of research efforts in the ubiquitous computing domain have sought to achieve useful, engaging, and sometimes ambitious behavioural analytics with sensory earables including studies of the human face; of emotion and stress; continuous monitoring of cardiovascular function; oxygen consumption and blood flow; and tracking eating episodes as well as dietary and swallowing activities. At the same time, we have started seeing commercial efforts such as Bragi's The Dash, Bose SoundSport, Jabra Elite Sport, and Sony Xperia offering music experience augmented with sensory services including fitness tracking, real-time translations and conversational agents. Naturally, earables are becoming an intense interdisciplinary area of study with many and diverse applications including HCI, empathic communication, behavioural science, health and wellbeing, entertainment, education, and security.

However, as of today, earable computing lacks an academic forum to bring together researchers, practitioners, and design experts from academia and industry to discuss, share, and shape this exciting new area of research. We are organising this very first workshop on Earable Computing with a hope that this workshop will serve as a catalyst for advancements in sensory earable technology as well as present a clear sense of direction for the research community to proceed in this space.

As a launchpad, we aim to leverage the Open Earable Platform, eSense, from Nokia Bell Labs. These devices are being shared with 50+ academic institutions to accelerate the research in this space. For the second edition of the workshop, we will also consider research contributions which do not build on top of eSense but present innovative developments with other devices.



Call For Papers

We will solicit two categories of papers.
  • Full papers (up to 6 pages including references) should report a reasonably mature work with earables, and is expected to demonstrate concrete and reproducible results albeit scale may be limited.
  • Interactive poster papers (up to 2 pages including references) are encouraged to report novel, and creative ideas that are yet to produce concrete research results but are at a stage where community feedback would be useful.
  • Moreover, we will have a special submission category - "Dataset Paper" - soliciting a 1-2 page document describing a well curated and labelled dataset collected with earables (eventually accompanied by the dataset).
    Full research papers will be in ACM sigconf template with 2 columns and the accepted papers will be included in the ACM Digital Library. All papers will be digitally available through the workshop website, and the UbiComp adjunct proceedings. For each category of papers, we will offer a "Best Paper" and "Best Dataset" awards sponsored by Nokia Bell Labs. In addition, depending on the quality and depth of the submissions we might consider producing a Book on "Earable Computing" contributed by the authors of the papers, and edited by the Workshop Organisers.

    Topics of interest (NOT an exhaustive list):
  • Acoustic Sensing with Earables
  • Kinetic Sensing with Earables
  • Multi-Modal Learning with Earables
  • Multi-Task Learning with Earables
  • Active Learning with Earables
  • Low-Power Sensing Systems for Earables
  • Authentication & Trust mechanisms for Earables
  • Quality-Aware Data Collection with Earables
  • Experience Sampling with Earables
  • Crowd Sourcing with Earables
  • Novel UI and UX for Earables
  • Auditory Augmented Reality Application with Earables
  • Health and Wellbeing Applications of Earables
  • Emerging applications of Earables
  • Submission & Timeline

    All submissions must be original work not under review at any other workshop, conference, or journal. While the workshop will accept papers describing completed work as well as work-in-progress, the emphasis is on early discussion of novel and radical ideas (potentially of a controversial nature) rather than detailed description and evaluation of incremental advances.

    Submissions must be no longer than 6 pages (including references) for Full Papers and 2 pages (including references) for Interactive Posters and must be in PDF format. Reviews will be single-blind: authors name and affiliation should be included in the submission.

    The submission template can be downloaded from ACM site.
    Latex documents should use the “sigconf” template style. Word users should use the interim template downloadable from the ACM site.

    Submission Site: https://new.precisionconference.com/submissions

    Submission Instructions: to select the appropriate track choose "SIGCHI" in the field Society, "Ubicomp/ISWC 2021" as Conference, and, finally, pick "Ubicomp/ISWC 2021 Workshop: EarComp" as Track.

    • Submission Deadline: June 22, 2021 (11:59 PM PDT) (extended) June 15, 2021 (11:59 PM PDT)
    • Acceptance Notification: July 15, 2021
    • Camera Ready Deadline: July 31, 2021
    • Workshop: September 25, 2021
    For any question/concern, get in touch with earcomp@esense.io.


    General Chairs
    Fahim Kawsar, Nokia Bell Labs
    Robert Harle, University of Cambridge

    Program Chairs
    Alessandro Montanari, Nokia Bell Labs
    Chulhong Min, Nokia Bell Labs

    Web, Publicity and Publication
    Andrea Ferlini, University of Cambridge

    Program Committee
    Michael Beigl, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology
    Marios Costantinides, Nokia Bell Labs Cambirdge
    Nigel Davies, Lancaster University
    Inseok Hwang, Pohang University of Science and Technology
    Seungwoo Kang, Korea University of Technology and Education
    JeongGil Ko, Ajou University
    Nicholas Lane, University of Cambridge
    Youngki Lee, Seoul National University
    Dong Ma, University of Cambridge
    Cecilia Mascolo, University of Cambridge
    Tatsuo Nakajima, Waseda University
    Tadashi Okoshi, Keio University
    Shijia Pan, UC Merced
    Johannes Schöning, University of Bremen
    Junehwa Song, KAIST
    Mani Srivastava, UCLA
    Kristof Van Laerhoven, University of Siegen
    Moustafa Youssef, Alexandria University